GCSE Statistics is a separate, optional GCSE taken alongside GCSE Maths rather than instead of it. Of the sixteen Oxford institutions in DfE’s 2024/25 key stage 4 institution-level subject file, three publish a GCSE Statistics entry — Cheney School, Oxford Spires Academy and Wychwood School — one entry each. Across the whole of Oxfordshire the count fell from 302 pupil entries in 2023/24 to 90 in 2024/25, while England’s rose from 30,221 to 31,402.
Sitting GCSE Statistics alongside GCSE Maths, or entering privately? Our expert GCSE Statistics tutors help students across Oxford on both the AQA and Pearson Edexcel specifications, working from the papers and mark schemes of whichever one a school or centre actually enters them for.
Which Oxford Schools Have a Published GCSE Statistics Entry for 2024/25?
Sixteen Oxford institutions appear in DfE’s 2024/25 key stage 4 performance release, cross-referenced against the Get Information About Schools register on 17 September 2026. That set is not a state-funded one: six state-funded mainstream secondary schools, one special academy and nine independent schools. Three publish a GCSE Statistics entry for that year, each of them exactly one: Cheney School (URN 139146), Oxford Spires Academy (URN 136261) and Wychwood School (URN 123294), the last of those independent. All three are open in the register.
Two of the three are state-funded, out of six. The table sets those two against the four with no Statistics row, with each school’s GCSE Mathematics entries for scale. All six publish a Mathematics row, so a missing Statistics row is not a missing school.
School (Oxford district)
URN
KS4 pupils
GCSE Maths entries
GCSE Statistics entries
The Cherwell School
137970
269
268
no row published
Cheney School
139146
282
269
1
Oxford Spires Academy
136261
215
212
1
The Oxford Academy
148354
200
188
no row published
The Swan School
147203
120
117
no row published
Greyfriars Catholic School
146800
90
87
no row published
These six combined
—
1,176
1,141
2
Source: DfE, Key stage 4 institution level subject entries, 2024/25; establishment details from Get Information About Schools. Both read 17 September 2026.
The phrase “no row published” is doing real work here, and this page does not soften it into a zero. DfE states nowhere in this release that a missing row means no entries, and the seven-year-series section below gives two reasons the inference is unsafe. What the file does support is narrower: across the six state-funded secondary schools in the Oxford district, 1,141 GCSE Mathematics entries are published against 2 GCSE Statistics entries.
The independent schools need a further caution. Only two of the nine — Headington Rye Oxford with 129 Mathematics entries and d’Overbroeck’s with 46 — publish a GCSE Mathematics row at all, so for the other seven an absence here is unpublished data, not evidence of anything. Wychwood School shows what that looks like from the inside: a Statistics entry and no Mathematics row. The private-candidate route for a family whose school does not enter it is quoted from AQA’s own specification on our national GCSE Statistics guide.
Where Do Oxfordshire’s GCSE Statistics Entries Actually Sit?
DfE does publish an Oxford row — just not one that can answer this question. The release’s local authority district file gives Oxford (E07000178) an average Attainment 8 score of 44.8 across 1,231 pupils at the end of key stage 4 and 9,020 GCSE entries in 2024/25, on the school-location basis. It has no subject dimension at all: its indicators stop at Attainment 8, the EBacc pillars and a few subject-group entry counts, with nothing for Statistics. Subject-level figures are filed under Oxfordshire instead, as our GCSE maths tutors in Oxford page explains.
That matters here, because the county’s Statistics entries sit in market towns rather than the city. Twelve Oxfordshire institutions publish a GCSE Statistics entry for 2024/25, totalling 93 exam entries; four account for 82, and none of those four is in Oxford.
Institution
Town
District
2023/24 entries
2024/25 entries
Blessed George Napier Catholic School and Sixth Form
Ten of the twelve are state-funded — nine academies and Carterton Community College, a local-authority maintained school — while Sibford School and Wychwood School are independent. The district column decides what counts as Oxford: Wheatley Park School’s town field reads Oxford but its district is South Oxfordshire, the trap a postal address sets on the city’s edge. On the district boundary, Oxford’s contribution is three entries out of 93, one at an independent school — read an Oxfordshire number as an Oxford number and you are reading, almost entirely, about Banbury, Witney and Watlington.
What Changed in Oxfordshire Between 2023/24 and 2024/25?
The school rows show where the county’s fall sits, but not why, and this section does not guess. The arithmetic below closes only if a missing row is read as nil, and DfE does not state that a missing row means zero entries.
On that reading two schools carry almost all of it. John Mason School in Abingdon (Vale of White Horse) published 147 GCSE Statistics exam entries in 2023/24 and has no row at all in 2024/25, while still publishing 177 GCSE Mathematics entries, so it is plainly still in the data. St Birinus School in Didcot went from 105 entries to 1. Against those two the county gained 23 at The Warriner School, 11 at Blessed George Napier, 3 at The Marlborough and 5 across five schools newly showing one entry each, and lost 2 at Bartholomew and 1 at Sibford. Summed, −212 — exactly the move from 305 to 93 exam entries.
Neither school is in Oxford. In 2023/24 no Oxford institution published a GCSE Statistics row at all, though every one is present in that year’s file — the six state-funded Oxford secondary schools carry between 190 and 267 subject rows each.
Already entered for GCSE Statistics, or weighing it against another option block choice? Our expert GCSE Statistics tutors help students across Oxford with the statistical enquiry cycle, the calculation questions and the interpretation marks, on whichever of the two specifications their own school or exam centre uses. Leading Tuition is rated 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 59 reviews, read on 17 September 2026.
What Do the Pandemic Years Mean in Oxfordshire’s Seven-Year Series?
One more limit belongs here. DfE publishes two files that count this subject differently: the local-authority file reports pupil entries for state-funded schools and gives Oxfordshire 90 in 2024/25, while the institution-level file reports exam entries, includes independent schools, and has its ten state-funded Oxfordshire rows summing to 91. For 2023/24 the equivalents are 302 and 303. Nothing in the release’s data guidance explains that residual of one, so this page gives both figures and no explanation — and makes no claim about what any unlisted school did.
Oxfordshire’s seven-year series does not trend. It runs 199, 325, 279, 209, 319, 302 and 90 across 2018/19 to 2024/25 — six year-on-year moves, four down and two up, swinging +63.3%, −14.2%, −25.1%, +52.6%, −5.3% and −70.2%. Calling that a decline, or a recovery, would describe something the numbers do not do.
Academic year
Statistics entries
GCSE Maths entries
Statistics as a share of Maths
2018/19
199
5,960
3.339%
2019/20
325
6,100
5.328%
2020/21
279
6,360
4.387%
2021/22
209
6,480
3.225%
2022/23
319
6,702
4.760%
2023/24
302
7,055
4.281%
2024/25
90
6,737
1.336%
Source: DfE statistics API, Subject pupil level local authority data, Oxfordshire (E10000025), GCSE, total pupil entries, state-funded schools, read 17 September 2026. Shares derived from the raw counts.
Two of those years need handling rather than reading. DfE states that its attainment measures “have been affected by changes in methodology following the cancellation of GCSE exams for the 2019/20 and 2020/21 academic years and by their replacement with centre assessed grades (CAGs) and teacher assessed grades (TAGs)”, and the methodology says plainly that “2020 and 2021 data should not be compared to previous years’ attainment data for the purposes of measuring changes in pupil performance”. It also records that the rule deciding which entries count changed in exactly those two years, from first-entry to best-entry discounting.
Oxfordshire is the counter-example. Nottingham’s series drops to a single entry in 2020/21 and so does Wandsworth’s; Oxfordshire records 279, its fourth-highest year of the seven. Both halves hold at once: no pandemic collapse here, and those two years still cannot be set against the others as though measured the same way. The county’s one real collapse is 2024/25, four years outside the pandemic window.
The small numbers need the same care. At local-authority level the release’s data guidance states that “no suppression has been applied above school level”, and the methodology describes suppression as applying “only where an aggregation covers only one school” — an aggregation rule, not a small-count one. At school level it behaves differently, and Oxfordshire shows it directly: the four schools with twelve or more entries publish a grade breakdown summing exactly to their total, while the eight whose total is four or fewer publish the total and no grade cells at all, with no symbol marking the gap. Cells simply vanish. That is why every absence here reads as no row published.
What Parents Say
DP
Deborah Prior
★★★★★
Confidence and progress
My son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
NI
Nicola
★★★★★
Amazing tutors!
We arranged maths and English tuition ahead of GCSEs and both tutors were brilliant. My daughter's grades improved, and by results day she achieved two grades higher than in her mock exams.
S
Saifan Khan
★★★★★
Great Teaching and Focused Learning
I attended an English bootcamp with Leading Tuition and the experience was excellent. The teacher gave focused attention to the small group while keeping the lessons interactive and engaging.
How Many Statistics Entries Is That Per GCSE Maths Entry in Oxfordshire?
The clearest way to size an optional subject is against the compulsory one beside it, in the same file, year and counting unit. Derived from the raw counts rather than any published percentage: Oxfordshire’s 90 GCSE Statistics entries in 2024/25 sit against 6,737 GCSE Mathematics entries, which is 1.336%, or about one Statistics entry for every 75 Maths entries. England’s 31,402 against 606,761 is 5.175%, about one in 19 — a little under four times the Oxfordshire rate.
That gap is new. In 2023/24 Oxfordshire’s 302 against 7,055 was 4.281%, against an England figure of 4.940% — close to the national pattern rather than a quarter of it. The county did not drift away gradually; it moved in one year, and England moved the other way, from 30,221 entries to 31,402.
Three qualifications belong on those numbers. They are entries, not pupils, so they are not a participation rate. The denominator is a county figure covering Banbury, Bicester, Didcot, Witney, Abingdon and the rest, not an Oxford one. And the local-authority file covers every state-funded school in the county, so this is a ratio between two entry counts and nothing more. The UK-wide picture from JCQ — a different source on a different scope — sits on our GCSE Statistics subject guide and is not repeated here.
Does GCSE Statistics Count Towards the EBacc or Attainment 8?
Not the EBacc, and only in a limited way towards Attainment 8 — the most concrete reason a school weighing its option blocks treats Statistics differently from history or a language. DfE publishes the definitive list as a workbook, English Baccalaureate: eligible qualifications, updated on 18 June 2026. Checked cell by cell across all eight of its sheets, it contains no cell anywhere containing the word Statistics.
Its maths sheet is headed “Qualifications counting as maths in the English Baccalaureate, and as EBacc maths in Progress 8 and Attainment 8”, and it lists twelve qualifications: GCSE Mathematics from OCR, AQA, Pearson Edexcel and WJEC Eduqas, plus eight AS qualifications in Mathematics or Further Mathematics. GCSE Statistics is not among them, and it appears on no other pillar’s sheet either.
DfE’s own subject groupings agree. In the same statistics API, the subject “Any mathematics” and the subject “Mathematics” return identical national totals in every year from 2019/20 onwards, including 606,761 in 2024/25, and differ by five in 2018/19. Statistics entries sit outside both figures.
Taking GCSE Statistics as a ninth or tenth subject? Our expert GCSE Statistics tutors help students across Oxford fit it around a full option block, so the hours it needs come from planning rather than from the subjects already in the Attainment 8 slots.
The Attainment 8 half still matters, because the EBacc measures themselves are going. The workbook’s own overview sheet states that “from academic year 2025 to 2026 onwards, English Baccalaureate (EBacc) headline and additional measures are being removed from key stage 4 performance measures”, and adds that the list “still determines whether qualifications are eligible for inclusion in some of the Progress 8 and Attainment 8 slots”. Attainment 8 counts up to eight qualifications: English language, English literature, English literature double weighted where both English qualifications are taken, double-weighted maths, three further that count in the EBacc, and three that need not — so a GCSE Statistics entry can only ever occupy one of those last three open slots. Progress 8 does not exist for either recent year: DfE states that progress measures “will not be published for the 2024/25 and 2025/26 academic years”.
How Leading Tuition Works With Oxford GCSE Statistics Students
Two boards examine this qualification, and which one a pupil sits is decided by their school or exam centre rather than by them. AQA’s own specification page records the qualification as GCSE Statistics 8382, and Pearson Edexcel’s specification gives the entry code 1ST0 with paper codes 1ST0/1F and 1ST0/1H. Our expert GCSE Statistics tutors help students across Oxford on either, working from that specification’s own past papers and mark schemes rather than a generic statistics syllabus. Paper structures, the formulae each board supplies and grade boundary history sit on our AQA GCSE Statistics guide and our Edexcel GCSE Statistics guide.
Because Statistics is taught alongside GCSE Maths rather than instead of it, the two compete for the same revision hours in Years 10 and 11. Where a student works with us on both, we plan them together so overlapping content is covered once and the Statistics-only material — the statistical enquiry cycle, sampling design, the interpretation marks — gets time of its own. Families already with our GCSE maths tutors in Oxford most often add Statistics that way.
The other situation this page exists for is a student at an Oxford school with no Statistics row in the DfE data. Preparing for a qualification with no class behind it is a different job: no school past-paper stock, no departmental scheme of work, so the specification itself supplies the structure. Leading Tuition is rated 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot, and 91% of our students achieve their desired grades. A free consultation is a short call about the student’s school, board and timetable; see also our overview of tutoring across Oxford.
Frequently Asked Questions About GCSE Statistics in Oxford
Which Oxford schools have a published GCSE Statistics entry?
Three, out of the sixteen Oxford institutions that appear in DfE's 2024/25 key stage 4 institution-level subject file: Cheney School (URN 139146), Oxford Spires Academy (URN 136261) and Wychwood School (URN 123294), which is an independent school. Each publishes exactly one exam entry. Two of the three are state-funded, out of the six state-funded mainstream secondary schools in the Oxford local authority district. The other thirteen institutions carry no GCSE Statistics row in that file at all.
If a school has no Statistics row, does that mean no pupil took it?
Not provably. DfE does not state anywhere in this release that a missing row means zero entries, so this page reports an absence as no row published. Two things make the inference unsafe. Suppression here is described as applying “only where an aggregation covers only one school” rather than to small counts, and separately, among Oxfordshire's twelve schools with a Statistics entry, the eight whose total is four or fewer publish the total but no grade breakdown at all, with no symbol marking the gap.
Why did Oxfordshire's GCSE Statistics entries fall from 302 to 90?
The school rows point at two places, neither in Oxford. John Mason School in Abingdon published 147 Statistics exam entries in 2023/24 and has no row at all in 2024/25; St Birinus School in Didcot went from 105 to 1. Reading that absent row as nil, those two falls against modest gains elsewhere give minus 212, matching the move from 305 to 93 exam entries exactly. The arithmetic only closes on that reading, and DfE does not state that an absent row means zero.
Is GCSE Statistics an EBacc subject?
No. DfE's own workbook of qualifications counting towards the English Baccalaureate, updated 18 June 2026, contains no cell anywhere across its eight sheets containing the word Statistics. Its maths sheet lists twelve qualifications only: GCSE Mathematics from OCR, AQA, Pearson Edexcel and WJEC Eduqas, plus eight AS qualifications in Mathematics or Further Mathematics. Because that same list still governs Attainment 8, a GCSE Statistics entry can only ever fill one of the three open slots, never an EBacc one.
Can my child take GCSE Statistics if their Oxford school does not enter it?
Yes, through the private-candidate route, which AQA sets out in its own specification and which our national GCSE Statistics guide quotes in full rather than this page repeating it. AQA's specification page for 8382 records the qualification as available to private learners, and Pearson Edexcel's own specification gives the entry code 1ST0. The practical work is finding an approved centre that will accept the entry, which is a question for that centre rather than for the school that declined to enter.
How do Oxfordshire's entry numbers compare with England's?
They moved in opposite directions. DfE's local-authority file gives Oxfordshire 90 GCSE Statistics pupil entries in 2024/25 against 302 in 2023/24, a fall of 70.2%, while England's rose from 30,221 to 31,402, a rise of 3.9%. Set against each area's own GCSE Mathematics entries in the same year, Oxfordshire's 90 against 6,737 is about one Statistics entry for every 75 Maths entries, and England's 31,402 against 606,761 is about one in 19 — a little under four times the Oxfordshire rate.
Start GCSE Statistics Tuition in Oxford
Book a free consultation and our expert GCSE Statistics tutors will build a programme around your child’s own school, exam board and tier — or, where the school does not enter the qualification, around the specification itself.
Leading Tuition is rated 4.8/5 on Trustpilot, and 91% of our students achieve their desired grades. See also our national GCSE Statistics guide.