16+ Maths: Does the Entrance Paper Test A-Level Content? (2027 Entry)
Latymer and Westminster say their 16+ Maths papers cover only Year 10 content — checked against AQA's own GCSE and A-level specs, plus which schools set a genuine extension paper.
16+ Maths is the subject-specific entrance paper some UK independent schools set for Year 12 entry. Latymer Upper School and Westminster School both state, in their own words, that the paper covers only topics candidates will have studied “by the end of Year 10” — not A-level content. Checked against AQA's own GCSE and A-level Mathematics specifications, that claim holds up: every genuinely new A-level topic sits outside GCSE content entirely.
Preparing for a 16+ Maths paper?
Our expert Maths tutors help Year 11 students preparing for 16+ entry build speed and flexibility on GCSE-level problem-solving — in the exact format, calculator rule and timing the target school actually sets.
What Does a 16+ Maths Entrance Paper Actually Test?
No marketplace archive or single-school page states this plainly, but it is the single fact most likely to change how a family revises: a 16+ Maths entrance paper does not require any content beyond GCSE. Latymer Upper School's own sample-papers page states that its 50-minute paper covers “topics that most candidates are likely to have studied by the end of Year 10, but will not necessarily be routine; rather they will be designed to test understanding of the topics and flexibility of approach to problem solving”, and requires a scientific calculator. Westminster School's Mathematics department page says the same thing in almost the same words: “the content of the papers will be focused on topics that we are sure pupils will have studied by the end of year 10”.
That is not a coincidence, and AQA's own specifications confirm why. AQA's GCSE Mathematics specification (8300, first taught from September 2015) already places the topics families most fear — surds, the quadratic formula, completing the square, inverse and composite function notation — inside its Higher-tier content, meaning they are GCSE topics, not A-level ones. AQA's A-level Mathematics specification (7357, exams from June 2018) is where the genuinely new material lives: full content sections on Proof, Differentiation, Integration, Numerical methods, Statistical hypothesis testing and Mechanics, none of which appear in the GCSE spec at all. A paper pinned to “by the end of Year 10” is, by construction, a paper that cannot touch any of that.
Which Schools Set a Genuine Extension Paper Beyond Core GCSE Content?
Only two of the five schools checked set anything beyond a single core paper. At Sevenoaks School, every candidate sits a 45-minute Maths Standard Level paper as one of three compulsory Assessment Day papers, and Sevenoaks states that “those wishing to study Higher Level Mathematics take an additional 45-minute paper”, adding that “the paper is used for setting purposes and has little bearing on whether an applicant will be offered a place.” For the complete Sevenoaks Assessment Day — the English Literature and Science & Humanities papers, the group discussion, dates and places — see our full Sevenoaks School 16+ guide.
Westminster School's structure is different again: two separate 45-minute papers, “a multiple choice paper for Mathematics and a written paper for those who wish to study Further Mathematics”, with prospective Further Mathematicians sitting both. What is easy to miss is that Westminster's own Year-10 content statement covers “the papers” in the plural — both of them — so even this extension paper is not confirmed to reach beyond GCSE content, on the school's own wording. See our full Westminster School 16+ guide for the complete Sixth Form entry process.
School
Format
Calculator
Timing
Alleyn's School
Multiple choice, not syllabus-dependent
Not allowed
Not published on the school's page
Latymer Upper School
Written paper
Scientific calculator required
50 minutes
Westminster School
Multiple choice (Maths); written (Further Maths, optional)
Not allowed
45 minutes per paper
Sevenoaks School
Written, Standard Level (+ optional HL extension)
Not stated
45 minutes per paper
St Paul's School
Numerical problem-solving paper
Not stated
No sample paper published
How Do 16+ Maths Papers Differ in Format Across Schools?
Families who assume “the Maths paper” is one fixed thing are working from the wrong template, and the format comparison above shows why. Alleyn's School's 16+ Mathematics page states the paper is “multiple choice questions, which range in difficulty”, that “no calculators are allowed”, and that it “should be accessible to anyone who is studying a GCSE Mathematics course and is not syllabus-dependent” — meaning it does not assume any particular exam board. Westminster School's multiple-choice Mathematics paper has 25 questions in total and is marked with a scheme designed to discourage blind guessing: “each correct answer scores 4 points. Each incorrect answer loses 1 point; unanswered questions will score 0 points.”
Latymer Upper School sits at the opposite end of the format spectrum: a 50-minute written paper requiring a scientific calculator, testing “flexibility of approach to problem solving” rather than speed under multiple-choice pressure. St Paul's School's structure is different again — St Paul's own admissions page confirms that “most candidates will also be required to sit a numerical problem-solving paper (no sample paper provided), which will depend on their chosen A-level subjects”, and that its 16+ examinations generally are “predominantly based on the current GCSE syllabuses” and “designed to test analytical skills and problem-solving ability more than factual recall.” A student preparing for a written, calculator-allowed paper is training a different muscle from one preparing for timed multiple choice with no calculator — confirming the target school's exact format matters more than generic 16+ Maths revision.
Written paper or multiple choice — the practice should match
A student drilled on calculator-allowed written questions is not ready for Westminster's no-calculator, negatively-marked multiple choice, and the reverse is just as true. Our Maths tutors build practice around the actual paper your target school sets, not a one-size-fits-all revision pack.
My son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
NI
Nicola
★★★★★
Amazing tutors!
We arranged maths and English tuition ahead of GCSEs and both tutors were brilliant. My daughter's grades improved, and by results day she achieved two grades higher than in her mock exams.
S
Saifan Khan
★★★★★
Great Teaching and Focused Learning
I attended an English bootcamp with Leading Tuition and the experience was excellent. The teacher gave focused attention to the small group while keeping the lessons interactive and engaging.
What GCSE Grade in Maths Do Schools Expect Before 16+ Entry?
Clearing the entrance paper is not the whole hurdle, and the two verified GCSE conditions are different in kind. Westminster School's Mathematics department page says that pupils looking to study Mathematics or Further Mathematics in the Sixth Form “will ideally be on track to get a grade 9 in (I)GCSE Mathematics” — an aspiration Westminster states clearly, not a published pass mark for the entrance paper itself.
Forest School sets a firmer floor, and names Maths specifically rather than folding it into an aggregate score: candidates need “at least three grade 7s or above”, “at least three grade 6s or above”, and “at least grade 5 in English and Maths”. A candidate could perform confidently in a 16+ Maths paper months before summer GCSE results are even confirmed, so neither Westminster's grade-9 recommendation nor Forest's grade-5 floor is a comment on how a candidate did in the entrance paper — both are conditions checked against a GCSE certificate that does not exist yet on assessment day.
Why Are the Entrance Paper and the GCSE Grade Two Separate Hurdles?
It is easy to read a grade recommendation and an entrance paper as one combined score, and families preparing for 16+ Maths regularly do. They are not. The 16+ Maths paper is sat in Year 11, usually in the autumn or winter before GCSE exams even begin, and tests only material candidates will have covered by the end of Year 10. Westminster's grade-9 aspiration and Forest's grade-5 floor, by contrast, are both checked against final GCSE results confirmed the following summer — a full academic year, and one entire set of external exams, after the entrance paper is sat.
That gap matters practically, not just administratively. A student who performs well in the 16+ Maths paper has demonstrated flexible problem-solving on Year 10 content under exam conditions — useful evidence of ability, but not proof of the eventual GCSE grade a school like Westminster or Forest will actually check. Treating a strong entrance-paper performance as if it already satisfies the GCSE condition is the mistake worth avoiding: the two are sequential tests of different things, not one pass mark split into halves. A family that spends the autumn term drilling GCSE grade boundaries instead of the entrance paper's own problem-solving style has prepared for the wrong checkpoint first, even though both checkpoints genuinely matter before September 2027.
Not sure which format your target school sets?
Our specialist 16+ Maths tutors build timed practice around the exact paper a target school uses — written and calculator-allowed, or multiple choice with no calculator — not a generic revision list.
What Should Preparation Actually Focus On, Given the Content Gap?
Preparation should follow directly from what the paper actually tests, not from a generic list of A-level topics. AQA's own A-level Mathematics specification confirms there are “no previous learning requirements” for A-level entry, only a recommendation that students “have the skills and knowledge associated with a GCSE Mathematics or equivalent” — which is precisely the level every verified 16+ Maths paper actually draws on, tested with more flexibility and less scaffolding than a typical GCSE question, not new curriculum content.
That means the highest-value preparation is timed, flexible problem-solving practice on GCSE-level material, built around the specific format — written and calculator-allowed, or multiple choice and no calculator — the target school sets. Our specialist Maths tutors build that practice around the exact paper a school uses, and where a candidate is aiming at one of the two genuine extension papers, our Further Maths tutors prepare the Sevenoaks HL and Westminster Further Maths routes specifically. Once a student joins the Sixth Form itself, we carry that same subject expertise through into A-level Maths tuition, building on exactly the GCSE foundation the entrance paper was testing all along. For the registration windows, timetable and how 16+ competes across every subject, see our full 16+ Entry guide. Whichever format a target school sets, revision that stays inside GCSE-level content but pushes further into unfamiliar, multi-step problem-solving is what every verified 16+ Maths paper actually rewards.
Frequently Asked Questions About 16+ Maths
Does a 16+ Maths entrance paper test A-level content?
No, not at the two schools that state this directly. Latymer Upper School sets its 16+ Maths paper on topics “most candidates are likely to have studied by the end of Year 10”, and Westminster School says the same for its own papers: “the content of the papers will be focused on topics that we are sure pupils will have studied by the end of year 10”. Cross-checked against AQA's specifications, everything genuinely new at A-level — Proof, Differentiation, Integration, Numerical methods, Mechanics — sits in the A-level Mathematics spec (7357), not the GCSE spec (8300), so a Year-10 cut-off is consistent with testing GCSE-level content only, applied more flexibly.
Which schools set an extra Higher Level or Further Maths paper at 16+?
Only two of the five schools checked. Sevenoaks School requires every candidate to sit a 45-minute Maths Standard Level paper, and candidates wishing to study Higher Level Mathematics sit an additional 45-minute paper, used for setting purposes rather than the offer decision. Westminster School sets two 45-minute papers: a multiple-choice paper for Mathematics that every candidate sits, and a written paper for Further Mathematics that only prospective Further Mathematicians sit alongside it. Westminster states the content of “the papers” — both of them — is still focused on topics studied by the end of Year 10, so even this extension paper is not confirmed to reach beyond GCSE content.
Is a calculator allowed in the 16+ Maths paper?
It depends entirely on the school, and the two verified cases go opposite ways. Alleyn's School's 16+ Mathematics paper is multiple choice and states plainly that “no calculators are allowed”. Latymer Upper School's paper is the reverse: a 50-minute written paper for which “a scientific calculator will be required”. Westminster School's multiple-choice Mathematics paper also does not allow a calculator. A family preparing for 16+ Maths needs to check the target school's own rule rather than assume either way.
What GCSE grade in Maths do schools expect before 16+ entry?
This is a separate condition from the entrance paper itself, and the two verified figures are different in kind. Westminster School says pupils looking to study Mathematics or Further Mathematics in the Sixth Form “will ideally be on track to get a grade 9 in (I)GCSE Mathematics” — an aspiration, not a published pass mark. Forest School sets a firmer floor: “at least grade 5 in English and Maths”, alongside at least three grade 7s and three grade 6s overall. Neither figure is a score on the 16+ paper — both are checked against actual GCSE results, which land months after the entrance paper is sat.
How is Westminster's 16+ Mathematics paper marked?
Westminster School's multiple-choice Mathematics paper has 25 questions in total, and uses positive marking with a penalty for wrong answers: “each correct answer scores 4 points. Each incorrect answer loses 1 point; unanswered questions will score 0 points.” That +4/-1/0 scheme rewards attempting a question you are unsure of over leaving it blank, but penalises a guess made with no working at all — a different skill from the untimed, calculator-allowed style of Latymer Upper School's written paper.
How should a student prepare for a 16+ Maths paper?
By deepening GCSE-level fluency rather than previewing A-level content. AQA's own A-level Mathematics specification confirms there is “no formal previous learning requirement” for A-level entry, only a recommendation that students “have the skills and knowledge associated with a GCSE Mathematics or equivalent”. Since every verified school's 16+ Maths paper draws on GCSE-level topics tested with more flexibility and less scaffolding — not new curriculum content — the highest-value preparation is timed problem-solving practice on GCSE material, in whichever format (written and calculator, or multiple choice and no calculator) the target school actually sets.
Start your child's 16+ Maths preparation today
Book a free consultation — no obligation, just honest advice on which paper your target school actually sets.
Leading Tuition is rated 4.8/5 on Trustpilot from 58 reviews.