My son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
The awarding body's own reference codes, its England-only cover note, and the one part of the specification that is genuinely optional.
Book a Free ConsultationEduqas A-level Biology is entered under the code A400QS (Qualification Accreditation Number 601/5706/9), and B400QS is not a second route of the same award: it is the entry code for a separately accredited AS-level Biology (QN 601/5705/7), a smaller qualification at 180 guided learning hours against the A-level's 360. Eduqas states plainly that this Ofqual-regulated qualification "is not available for candidates in maintained schools and colleges in Wales."
Our expert Eduqas Biology tutors help A-level students working to the A400QS specification with the Core Concepts, the Component 3 option, and the evidence the Practical Endorsement requires.
| Qualification | Entry code | Qualification Number (QN) |
|---|---|---|
| Eduqas A Level Biology | A400QS | 601/5706/9 |
| Eduqas AS Level Biology | B400QS | 601/5705/7 |
| WJEC A Level Biology (separate accreditation, see below) | 1400QS | 601/5846/3 |
Source: Eduqas's and WJEC's own qualification pages and Ofqual's find-a-qualification register, retrieved September 2026.
Eduqas's own Reference Codes table settles what the two codes are: A400QS is the entry code for the A Level (QN 601/5706/9), and B400QS is the entry code for the AS Level (QN 601/5705/7) of the same specification suite — not two parallel routes through different content. The specification PDF states the A-level entry code in the same terms — "The entry code appears below. WJEC Eduqas A level Biology: A400QS" — and contains zero occurrences of "B400" anywhere in its text, confirming this document covers the A-level entry only.
Ofqual's own register independently confirms A400QS at 360 guided learning hours and 500 total qualification time, status "Available to learners." The register entry for B400QS shows exactly half the guided learning hours — 180, against a total qualification time of 250 — consistent with a genuinely smaller, separately certificated qualification rather than a first-year label for the A level. Eduqas's own specification adds a structural difference beyond the hours: "There will be no separate assessment of practical skills for AS qualifications." AS students still answer practical-knowledge questions in their written papers, but the A-level's Practical Endorsement itself does not exist at B400QS.
This split fits the wider reform of AS and A levels. Biology was one of the subjects moved onto decoupled AS and A levels taught in England from September 2015, with the first AS results in 2016 and the first A-level results in 2017, and AS results no longer counting towards the A-level grade — so B400QS stands alone rather than contributing marks to A400QS.
Two independent revision sources — a past-papers index and a revision-notes site, both checked directly rather than taken from a search snippet — agree that the AS course itself is built from two components with their own titles: Basic Biochemistry and Cell Organisation, and Biodiversity and Physiology of Body Systems (paper codes B400U10-1 and B400U20-1). Eduqas's own AS specification document was not fetched for this page, so the topic-by-topic content beneath those two titles is not stated here.
Not necessarily, and not for the reason the shorthand "Eduqas serves England, WJEC serves Wales" suggests. WJEC's own AS/A Level Biology page lists a completely separate code set — 1400QS (A Level) and 2400QS (AS Level), QN 601/5846/3 — confirming a genuinely separate accreditation exists alongside Eduqas's A400QS/B400QS pair.
But Ofqual's own register entry for that WJEC qualification (601/5846/3) records its national availability as "Northern Ireland, International" — not Wales. Ofqual regulates qualifications in England and, for some awards, Northern Ireland and international centres; it does not regulate what is taught in Wales's maintained schools, which is Qualifications Wales' remit on a separate register this research did not access. So this page states only what Ofqual's own register says about this specific WJEC accreditation — that its stated market is Northern Ireland and international centres — not that WJEC has no Wales-market equivalent at all. A family in England choosing between the two brands should look at the code on the exam entry, not the brand name, to know which specification a school actually teaches.
Eduqas's A400QS specification names three components, each a two-hour written examination worth 33 1/3% of the qualification: Energy for Life, Continuity of Life, and Requirements for Life.
A fourth category sits outside all three components. Core Concepts — chemical elements joined to form biological compounds; cell structure and organisation; cell membranes and transport; biological reactions regulated by enzymes; and nucleic acids and their functions — are, in the specification's own words, "fundamental to the functioning of living organisms" and "may be assessed within any of the three components." Each component's own assessment summary restates the point individually: Component 1, 2 and 3 each state that "assessment of Core Concepts will also be included."
Component 3 is the only place any choice exists in the entire qualification. Its Section A, worth 80 marks, is "a range of short and longer structured compulsory questions based on the compulsory content of the component," with Core Concepts also included. Section B, worth 20 marks, is "a choice of 1 out of 3 options: Immunology and Disease; Human Musculoskeletal Anatomy" or "Neurobiology and Behaviour." Everything else across all three components and the five Core Concepts topics is compulsory. The specification's own text does not state who makes the choice between the three options — centre, teacher or candidate — so this page does not guess at an answer the board has not given.
Not sure which specification your child's school actually teaches? Our A-level Biology tutors confirm it from the code on a past paper, then build sessions around that specification's own component structure and practical requirements.
The number families actually need is the minimum evidence count, and Eduqas states it directly: "a minimum of 12 practical activities to be carried out by each learner" to meet the Practical Endorsement's requirements. That is separate from the individually headed practical-work sections embedded across the specification's own topics — the two counts answer different questions, one the practical work taught across the course, the other the minimum evidence required for the endorsement itself, and neither contradicts the other.
Two further regulated minimums apply to the written papers, not the endorsement. "The weighting for the assessment of mathematical skills will be a minimum of 10%," and "the weighting for the indirect assessment of practical skills will be a minimum of 15%" — both stated for every series in the specification's own scheme of assessment. The Practical Endorsement itself carries no percentage weighting: it is certificated as Pass or Not Classified against the Common Practical Assessment Criteria — the same five-competency framework, including "follows written procedures" and "applies investigative approaches and methods when using instruments and equipment," found in the equivalent English specifications from other boards.
Eduqas's own Common Practical Assessment Criteria table names the individual competencies a learner must demonstrate routinely to be awarded a Pass, including "follows written procedures," which the specification defines as correctly following written instructions to carry out the experimental techniques or procedures, "applies investigative approaches and methods when using instruments and equipment," and "safely uses a range of practical equipment and materials." This is the same five-competency CPAC framework independently found in other English boards' biology specifications — a genuinely shared, Department for Education-mandated framework rather than an Eduqas-specific one, which is why a Practical Endorsement result awarded under one board's biology specification is treated the same way as one awarded under another's.
Our specialist Eduqas Biology tutors work through the Practical Endorsement's evidence requirements alongside the written-paper content, so a student is prepared for both the certificated Pass and the marks the papers themselves carry for practical skills.
We start from the code on the exam entry, not the subject name, because A400QS's three named components, its one optional section, and its 12-activity Practical Endorsement minimum are specific to this specification rather than generic A-level biology content. Sessions are built around the actual gap: the Core Concepts most students under-revise because they cross all three papers rather than sitting in one, the Component 3 option a student's centre has chosen, and the practical-skills question types the written papers test under that regulated 15% minimum. We are rated 4.8/5 on Trustpilot from 58 reviews, and 91% of our students go on to achieve their desired grades. For the cross-board comparison across AQA, Edexcel, OCR and Eduqas, see our A-Level Biology guide; for GCSE foundations, our GCSE Biology guide; or start from the wider Biology tutor service or the A-level tutoring hub.
My son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
We arranged maths and English tuition ahead of GCSEs and both tutors were brilliant. My daughter's grades improved, and by results day she achieved two grades higher than in her mock exams.
I attended an English bootcamp with Leading Tuition and the experience was excellent. The teacher gave focused attention to the small group while keeping the lessons interactive and engaging.
A400QS and B400QS are not two routes through the same content: they are the entry codes for two separately accredited qualifications on Eduqas's own Reference Codes table for this specification. A400QS (QN 601/5706/9) is the two-year A level, worth 360 guided learning hours. B400QS (QN 601/5705/7) is the standalone AS level, worth 180 guided learning hours, confirmed independently on Ofqual's own register. The AS course carries no separate assessment of practical skills of its own; only the A level carries the Practical Endorsement.
No, not this specification. Eduqas's own specification cover page states plainly that "this Ofqual regulated qualification is not available for candidates in maintained schools and colleges in Wales." WJEC holds a separately accredited GCE A Level in Biology (1400QS/2400QS, QN 601/5846/3), and Ofqual's own register lists that qualification's national availability as Northern Ireland and International, not Wales - so neither Ofqual-regulated specification is the version taught in Wales's maintained schools; that sits with Qualifications Wales instead.
Eduqas's A400QS specification names three components, each a two-hour written paper worth 33 1/3% of the qualification: Energy for Life, Continuity of Life, and Requirements for Life. A fourth category, Core Concepts, sits outside the three named components and can be assessed within any of them - confirmed in the specification's own summary-of-assessment table, which restates the point separately under each of the three components.
Component 3 is the only place any choice exists in the qualification. Its Section A, worth 80 marks, is compulsory content; Section B, worth 20 marks, is a choice of 1 out of 3 options - Immunology and Disease, Human Musculoskeletal Anatomy, or Neurobiology and Behaviour. The specification's own text does not state who makes that choice - centre, teacher or candidate - so this page does not guess at an answer the board has not given.
A minimum of 12 practical activities carried out by each learner, evidencing the requirements set out in the prescribed subject content published by the Department for Education. The Practical Endorsement is reported separately from the A400QS grade and does not contribute to it; it is certificated against the Common Practical Assessment Criteria. The AS-level qualification, B400QS, carries no equivalent practical assessment of its own.
Two separate regulated minimums apply to every series. Mathematical skills must make up a minimum of 10% of the assessment, and the indirect assessment of practical skills must make up a minimum of 15% - both stated in the specification's own scheme of assessment. Neither percentage is the Practical Endorsement itself, which is Pass or Not Classified and carries no percentage weighting of its own.
Primary sources for this page: the Eduqas A-level Biology (A400QS) specification, Eduqas's own qualification page, WJEC's Biology qualification page, and Ofqual's find-a-qualification register for A400QS, B400QS and WJEC's 601/5846/3.
A note on verification. eduqas.co.uk returns a genuine, substantial not-found page for a path that does not exist, confirmed with a deliberately invented URL as a control before any page on this site was cited. Every code, weighting and figure above was checked against the specification PDF itself and against Ofqual's independent register, in September 2026.
Our Eduqas A-level Biology tutors work to the A400QS specification — the three named components, the Component 3 option, and the Practical Endorsement's 12-activity minimum — not a generic biology syllabus. Rated 4.8/5 on Trustpilot from 58 reviews, and 91% of our students go on to achieve their desired grades. For the cross-board picture, see our A-Level Biology guide.
Book a Free Consultation