Confidence and progress
My son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
DfE 2024/25 subject-entry and value-added data for every Leeds sixth form and college that enters A-level Physics, plus A-level Physics tuition from Leading Tuition.
Book a Free ConsultationNotre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College entered 94 students for A-level Physics in 2024/25, the largest cohort of any Leeds sixth form or college, taught on OCR’s Physics A specification, H556. Every other Leeds provider we checked against its own course page teaches AQA’s A-level Physics, 7408, instead. Of the 26 Leeds providers DfE records a 2024/25 Physics value-added figure for, only three have a confidence interval that clears zero.
Leading Tuition provides one-to-one A-level Physics tuition for students at sixth forms and colleges across Leeds, working from whichever board and specification a student’s own institution has entered them for.
Our expert A-level Physics tutors work from your child’s own board and specification — OCR’s H556 at Notre Dame, AQA’s 7408 everywhere else we checked — not a generic scheme of work.
Book a Free Consultation Message us on WhatsAppNo page ranking for ‘a-level physics tutors in leeds’ names a single Leeds provider’s own exam board, GCSE entry grade or value-added score, so this page starts from what each institution publishes itself and from what the Department for Education records about it. The board and the mathematics content a specification demands are set nationally, but which board a Leeds sixth form has chosen, and how it reads that mathematics floor into an admissions grade, is decided locally — and that is what varies from one Leeds postcode to the next.
The Department for Education publishes a subject-by-subject entry count for every institution that returns 16-to-18 results, under ‘Subjects entered at 16 to 18’. Leading Tuition verified board, specification and entry requirements from six Leeds providers’ own admissions pages; each provider’s DfE entry count for A-level Physics in 2024/25 is below.
| Sixth form / college | A-level Physics entries, 2024/25 | Exam board |
|---|---|---|
| Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College | 94 | OCR |
| Leeds Mathematics School | 54 | AQA |
| Elliott Hudson College | 40 | AQA |
| The Grammar School At Leeds | 36 | AQA |
| Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School | 27 | AQA |
| Roundhay School | 26 | AQA |
Source: Department for Education, Compare School and College Performance, ‘Subjects entered at 16 to 18’ records for Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College (URN 130548), Leeds Mathematics School (URN 149755), Elliott Hudson College (URN 141940), The Grammar School At Leeds (URN 108113), Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School (URN 137704) and Roundhay School (URN 108076), 2024/25 academic year, read 24 September 2026.
Notre Dame’s 94 entries are 3.6 times Roundhay’s 26 — our own arithmetic on two DfE-published figures, not a ratio DfE states itself — and the six providers above are not the whole city. DfE’s school-level value-added dataset lists 31 providers inside the Leeds local authority boundary, of which 26 return a 2024/25 A-level Physics cohort. Six of those 26 are too small for DfE to publish a value-added figure for without risking identifying an individual student, and five of the 31 have no matched Physics cohort in the dataset at all, among them Co-op Academy Priesthorpe, Gateways School, John Jamieson School, Leeds College of Building and Lighthouse School Leeds.
Families still weighing separate Physics against Combined Science at GCSE can see our Leeds GCSE Physics tutors page for that split; this page starts from A-level.
AQA’s A-level Physics, specification code 7408, is what five of the six Leeds providers we checked teach, confirmed on each provider’s own course page. Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College, the city’s largest cohort, teaches OCR’s Physics A instead, specification code H556, linked directly from its own physics course page.
| Provider | Exam board | Specification |
|---|---|---|
| Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College | OCR | Physics A, H556 |
| Leeds Mathematics School | AQA | 7408 |
| The Grammar School At Leeds | AQA | 7408 (published as ‘the AQA course’) |
| Elliott Hudson College | AQA | 7408 |
| Roundhay School | AQA | 7408 |
| Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School | AQA | 7408 |
Source: each institution’s own published A-level Physics course page, read 24 September 2026; AQA’s own specification page for 7408; Notre Dame’s linked OCR specification document for H556.
Where a Leeds student’s chemistry and physics boards differ within the same timetable, and what that means for revision, is not new territory on this site: our Leeds A-level chemistry page sets out Notre Dame’s own AQA/OCR split in full, so we do not repeat it here. Board and specification decide the paper structure, the past papers and the mark scheme a student revises from; our A-level Physics page covers the board-by-board paper structure nationally, and our dedicated AQA A-level Physics and OCR A-level Physics pages cover each specification’s own papers, practicals and grade boundaries in full.
Our expert A-level Physics tutors teach from your child’s own specification, not a generic one, whether that is OCR’s H556 at Notre Dame or AQA’s 7408 at every other Leeds provider we checked.
Book a Free Consultation Message us on WhatsAppEvery Leeds provider we checked publishes its own GCSE requirement for A-level Physics, and they are not identical — nor is their answer to the one question a physicist’s family actually needs: does a Leeds sixth form require A-level Mathematics alongside Physics, or merely recommend it?
| Provider | GCSE science requirement | GCSE Maths requirement | A-level Maths alongside Physics |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College | 2 sciences at 6 (incl. Physics), or Combined Science 66 | Grade 6+ | ‘Ideally’ — recommended, not required |
| Leeds Mathematics School | Combined Science 7/7, or Physics/Chemistry at 7+ | Grade 7+ | Compulsory — every student studies A-level Maths and Further Maths |
| The Grammar School At Leeds | Double science 8,7 — or only 7,7 if also taking A-level Maths | Grade 7 | Not required; students also taking A-level Maths are offered a lower science threshold instead |
| Elliott Hudson College | Combined Science 77, or Physics at 7 (APS 5.5+) | Grade 6+ | Not stated as a requirement |
| Roundhay School | Science 6,6 (Physics at 6 if triple science; 6 and 7 for two sciences) | General entry: 5 GCSEs at 4+ incl. Maths | Not stated as a requirement |
| Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School | Not separately published beyond general entry | — | Explicitly not required — ‘important’ for Engineering applicants only |
Source: each institution’s own published admissions or course page, read 24 September 2026.
Physics carries the highest prescribed mathematics-content floor of the three sciences DfE sets nationally — our Leeds A-level chemistry page sets that figure against chemistry’s and biology’s — and it shows up locally in exactly the place you would expect: at The Grammar School At Leeds, a student who is not also taking A-level Maths needs a full grade higher in double science to be offered a place.
The clearest single contrast is Leeds Mathematics School against Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School. At Leeds Mathematics School every Physics student studies A-level Mathematics and Further Mathematics as a compulsory part of the curriculum, not an elective choice. At Prince Henry’s, the school’s own course listing says the opposite in as many words: studying A-level Mathematics alongside Physics is ‘important’ for a student aiming at Engineering, ‘however, it is not a requirement of the Physics A level course that students should study Maths A level.’ The two are roughly eight miles apart, both teach the AQA specification, and they take opposite positions on the one question most families assume has a single, universal answer.
A value-added score is only a finding once its own confidence interval sits entirely on one side of zero; where the interval spans zero, the difference between a positive-looking score and a negative-looking one is noise, not signal. DfE’s school-level value-added dataset returns a 2024/25 A-level Physics figure for 26 Leeds providers. Of those, three have an interval that clears zero — all three positive, none negative.
| Provider | Value added, 2024/25 | Confidence interval | VA-matched entries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leeds Mathematics School | +0.47 | 0.15 to 0.78 | 54 |
| Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School | +0.56 | 0.12 to 1.01 | 27 |
| Ralph Thoresby School | +1.27 | 0.39 to 2.14 | 7 |
Source: DfE statistics API, dataset 019c2960-abc0-700e-91ed-bb9823c0feed, subject Physics, GCE A level, A-level cohort, 2024/2025 academic year, queried 24 September 2026.
Ralph Thoresby School’s +1.27 is the highest of the three, but it rests on just 7 VA-matched entries — a single strong or weak result moves a score like that by a wide margin, which is exactly why DfE publishes the interval alongside it rather than the score alone. Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College, the city’s largest cohort at 91 VA-matched entries (a slightly smaller figure than its published 94 subjects-entered total, because the value-added measure counts only students with matched prior attainment), scores -0.16 with an interval of -0.4 to 0.09 — spanning zero, and therefore not a finding in either direction despite being the biggest number on the page. Woodkirk Academy’s own interval runs from exactly 0 to 1.12: its lower bound touches zero rather than clearing it, so we have not counted it among the three.
The remaining Leeds providers with a disclosed score — including The Grammar School At Leeds at +0.03, Roundhay School at +0.34 and Elliott Hudson College at -0.32 — all have intervals that span zero. Six of the 26 rows are suppressed by DfE because the underlying numbers are too small to publish without risking identifying an individual student.
Already know your child’s target grade at their own Leeds sixth form? Book a short call and our expert A-level Physics tutors will build a programme around their actual specification and exam board.
Book a Free Consultation Message us on WhatsAppMy son was low in confidence after COVID and the gaps in learning were building up. Using this service helped plug those gaps, rebuild confidence, and improve his ability to learn properly again.
We arranged maths and English tuition ahead of GCSEs and both tutors were brilliant. My daughter's grades improved, and by results day she achieved two grades higher than in her mock exams.
I attended an English bootcamp with Leading Tuition and the experience was excellent. The teacher gave focused attention to the small group while keeping the lessons interactive and engaging.
Leeds Mathematics School is a 16-19 free school sponsored by the University of Leeds and run in partnership with the GORSE Academies Trust, the same trust that runs Elliott Hudson College. Its curriculum page states the requirement directly: ‘In Year 12 and Year 13 you study A-level Mathematics and A-level Further Mathematics. You take A-level examinations in both of these subjects at the end of Year 13,’ before a student chooses two further subjects from Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science or Mandarin Chinese. Every LMaS Physics student is, by construction, also a Further Mathematics student — a pairing no other Leeds provider in this survey makes compulsory.
That is a curriculum design choice, not evidence that double maths improves physics outcomes wherever it is tried; a self-selecting intake admitted on a grade 7 GCSE Mathematics threshold is not a fair comparison with an open-entry sixth form. What can be said is narrower, and specific to this school: LMaS is one of only three Leeds providers whose 2024/25 Physics value-added interval clears zero, at +0.47, and it is the only one of the three built around a compulsory Further Maths pairing rather than an open subject choice.
Admission itself is selective and mathematics-first: LMaS asks for grade 7 or above in GCSE Mathematics, and either 7/7 in Combined Science or a 7 in the relevant single science, alongside a written Mathematics Aptitude Assessment and two admissions interviews. A student who reaches Physics at LMaS has already cleared a higher GCSE Maths bar than any other Leeds provider on this page asks for.
Whether or not your child’s Leeds sixth form requires A-level Maths alongside Physics, our expert A-level Physics tutors keep the mathematics a physics paper assumes moving in step with what they are taught in maths lessons.
Book a Free Consultation Message us on WhatsAppWhichever board a Leeds sixth form has entered a student for — OCR’s Physics A at Notre Dame, or AQA’s 7408 at every other provider we checked — Leading Tuition builds a programme from that specification’s own papers, mark schemes and required practicals, rather than a generic physics scheme of work. Where a provider also requires A-level Mathematics alongside Physics, as Leeds Mathematics School does, sessions are timed to keep the mathematics a physics paper assumes moving in step with what a student is taught in their maths lessons, rather than left to catch up separately once a physics topic needs it.
For a student whose sixth form has not published a Physics-specific GCSE requirement, such as Roundhay School’s general entry criteria, we work from the school’s own published threshold and from a student’s actual mock and GCSE results, rather than assuming a city-wide average applies to their particular case. 91% of our students achieve their desired grades.
Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College entered 94 students for A-level Physics in 2024/25, the largest number Leading Tuition found published for any Leeds institution, taught on OCR’s Physics A specification, H556. Leeds Mathematics School is next on 54, followed by Elliott Hudson College on 40, The Grammar School At Leeds on 36, Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School on 27 and Roundhay School on 26. DfE counts exam entries rather than individual students and publishes no school-level average grade for Physics, so these figures describe the scale of each department, not the results it achieves.
It depends entirely on the provider. At Leeds Mathematics School every Physics student also studies A-level Mathematics and Further Mathematics as a compulsory part of the curriculum. At Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School, the school’s own course listing says the opposite: studying Maths alongside Physics is ‘important’ for Engineering applicants but ‘it is not a requirement of the Physics A level course’. Most other Leeds providers we checked, including The Grammar School At Leeds and Elliott Hudson College, neither state it as a requirement nor rule it out.
AQA’s A-level Physics, specification 7408, confirmed on the providers’ own course pages at Leeds Mathematics School, The Grammar School At Leeds, Elliott Hudson College, Roundhay School and Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School — five of the six Leeds providers we checked directly. Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College, the city’s largest Physics cohort, is the exception: its own course page names OCR’s Physics A, specification H556, linked from a downloadable specification document on its site.
Three, out of the 26 Leeds providers DfE records a 2024/25 Physics value-added figure for: Leeds Mathematics School at +0.47 (interval 0.15 to 0.78, on 54 VA-matched entries), Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School at +0.56 (0.12 to 1.01, on 27 entries) and Ralph Thoresby School at +1.27 (0.39 to 2.14, on just 7 entries). All three intervals sit entirely above zero; none of the 26 sits entirely below it. Notre Dame’s own score, -0.16, has an interval that spans zero and is not a finding.
Yes. Leeds Mathematics School, a 16-19 free school sponsored by the University of Leeds and run with the GORSE Academies Trust, entered 54 students for A-level Physics in 2024/25 on AQA’s specification 7408. Its curriculum page states that every student studies A-level Mathematics and Further Mathematics compulsorily, alongside two further subjects chosen from Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science or Mandarin Chinese, so every LMaS Physics student is also a Further Maths student. It is one of only three Leeds providers whose Physics value-added interval clears zero.
It varies by provider and, at two of them, by whether a student is also taking A-level Maths. Notre Dame asks for two GCSE sciences at grade 6 including Physics, or 66 in Combined Science, plus Maths at grade 6. The Grammar School At Leeds asks for 8,7 in double science, or only 7,7 if the student is also taking A-level Maths. Elliott Hudson College asks for an Average Point Score of 5.5 with Combined Science at 77 or Physics at grade 7. Always check the specific sixth form’s own current course page before results day.
Yes. Leading Tuition provides one-to-one A-level Physics tuition for students at sixth forms and colleges across Leeds, working from whichever specification a student’s own institution has entered them for — OCR’s Physics A, H556, at Notre Dame Catholic Sixth Form College, or AQA’s 7408 at Leeds Mathematics School, The Grammar School At Leeds, Elliott Hudson College, Roundhay School and Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School. 91% of our students achieve their desired grades.
Whether your child’s sixth form teaches OCR’s Physics A or AQA’s 7408, and whether or not Further Maths runs alongside it, we build a programme around their actual specification, their target grade and the mathematics their papers assume.
Leading Tuition is rated 4.8/5 on Trustpilot from 59 reviews. See also our A-level Physics tuition and our wider tutoring across Leeds.
Book a Free Consultation